top of page

New Release: CAN'T STOP LOVING YOU by Miranda Liasson


We're thrilled to share the latest release from Miranda Liasson. Can't Stop Loving You is another lighthearted contemporary romance from the award-winning author of This Thing Called Love. Scroll down to watch the book trailer, read an excerpt, and comment for a chance to win a print or e-book edition of the book!

 

From the Author: "CAN'T STOP LOVING YOU is an emotional second-chance love story about love, loss, friendship, family, and the journey of one woman to confront her past in order to move onto her future. I hope you enjoy it!"

CAN'T STOP LOVING YOU by Miranda Liasson

THE BOOK

When it comes to her heart, Arabella D’Angelo has moved on—even though she still lives in Mirror Lake, Connecticut, a little tourist town with a long memory for mistakes. Ever the dutiful daughter of a cantankerous widower who holds grudges, Bella has spent the past twelve years raising her younger brother and making a name for herself as a successful psychologist. Now, when she isn’t counseling a lonely-hearts club for senior women, she’s humoring her matchmaking girlfriends. Bella resists the romancing of their blind dates, yet her friends hope she’ll fall for a local and scrap plans for a fresh start in Chicago.

Then, just before Bella’s thirtieth birthday, her first love, Roman Spikonos, returns to Mirror Lake. When he moves next door to her family’s garden-center business to run his grandparents’ orchard, it stirs up gossip—and a tempest of passions—just in time for pumpkin harvest. As Roman and Bella once again get caught up in a swirl of desire and heartache, not to mention her overprotective father’s fury, Mirror Lake will soon find out whether the Italian hometown beauty and her unforgettable Greek god can stand a second chance.

"Whether you have read the other Mirror Lake stories (which you definitely should!) or you're new to Ms. Liasson's world, if you like second chance love stories or stories about long-enduring pining love stories, you'll love the story of Arabella and Roman."

Heather @ Goodreads

 

ENJOY AN EXCERPT

Everything about him invoked the romance of a clandestine night meeting. The black-as-night hair, catching a glint from the one dim light. The big brown eyes, innocently pleading. The big chest and lean, muscular forearms, so much more defined than when he was a boy. A man accustomed to labor. Who used his muscle as well as his brains. Yep, he was the whole big, irresistible package, and he was about to climb into her childhood bedroom.

Part of her wanted to haul him in over that sill and rip his clothes off and beg him to make love to her, right there on the floor.

But the other half wanted to push him out the window. Not really, but anything to wipe that cocky look off his face.

He was a tiger in a kitten costume. She’d be a fool to play his game.

“No, you may not come in,” Bella said. “Go away.” She crossed her arms. Mainly because she caught him looking at her boobs and realized she was wearing a pink camisole that was probably giving him quite a show. “That trellis is old. If I were you, I’d scuttle right back down it before you fall.”

“I’m not going to—” All of a sudden he lost his grip.

She lunged forward. “Roman! Oh my God, Roman, no!” She leaned out the window to find he was huddling a little below the window, chuckling.

“I’m going to slam this window shut right now,” she said darkly. “And I don’t care which appendages I catch with it.”

“Arabella. Wait.” Oh, the sound of her given name on those lips. She shivered a little, and not from the cool night air. He reached out, his fingers grasping her bare arm, and they felt so—good. The warmth of him traversed up and down her arm and spread like fire into her chest and below. Far below. Oh, her traitorous body, so reactive to him, even after all these years.

She looked at him reluctantly. Her cheeks felt hot. Hell, all of her felt hot.

CAN'T STOP LOVING YOU by Miranda Liasson

“I’m sorry about earlier,” he said. “I was wrong to interfere with your date. I just want to talk with you. Will you let me in?”

She drew back, away from his touch. “Fine. Even though both of us are going to get shot if my father wakes up and finds you here.”

He threw his long leg over the sill and climbed over it. The light somehow made the chiseled lines of his jaw look more severe, more menacing. In her old room, his tall, lean body loomed large. Too large.

“Wow, time warp,” he said, looking around at the pale-pink walls, the patchwork quilt, the white furniture. Various clothes on the floor. Makeup tubes and containers scattered over her vanity. “And such a great watchdog, too,” he said, glancing over at the dog, who was chasing squirrels in her sleep and snoring heavily.

Roman walked over and stood in front of her, his gaze doing a slow sweep, starting at her bare feet, working his way up her bare legs and PJ shorts, her cami, up to her frowning face. She expected some remark—sarcastic or borderline innuendo, but he surprised her. “I was out of line in the bar. Contrary to what you may believe, I do care about you. I want us to be friends. And since we’re going to be living together in the same town, I think we should make an effort.”

Friends. Right. She should feel relieved, but a wave of another feeling came over her. Disappointment? Oh, come on. What did she expect? That she was Rapunzel and he was rappelling in to save her from her life? Romeo coming after Juliet? She didn’t need saving. What had she been expecting him to say, anyway?

Except it did seem anticlimactic, a declaration of friends after all that climbing.

“Okay. I accept your apology.”

His eyes wandered around the room. What was he looking for? Did he expect to find a Chad Michael Murray poster or two? Maroon 5 or Nickelback or Kelly Clarkson or Britney Spears CDs lying about? Photos of them from prom? The tiny diamond ring he’d given her on that last night that she’d worn on a chain around her neck for years after he’d gone?

He smiled. A full, wide smile, and that was a knockout, too. Lord, did the man have no features that were unappealing to women? That smile was positively blinding. It sent her hormones spinning into overdrive. He had to leave. Now. “Well, thanks for coming, but . . .”

“I want to show you something,” he blurted.

“What?”

He canted his head out the window. “Come with me.”

“Down the trellis? No way.” He might be into risking his life, but to her it did not appeal.

“I’ll go down the trellis. You go the normal way and meet me over at my place.”

Common sense had her shaking her head. “Roman, no. I’m sorry, this is—”

Lunacy. Against all sense. Going with him now would be dangerous for so many reasons, and really, her father was the least of those worries. She felt even now, after all these years, the intense, magnetic pull of him. The urge to run her hands over the hard planes of his back, touch the coarsely textured silk of his hair. Imagine the weight of him over her, the deep drive of his kisses, how he’d murmur in her ear and tell her how much he loved her, how he’d never love anyone else . . .

She opened her mouth to say no. But he turned away and tossed his leg back over the sill. “I just want to show you something—something that’s important to me. Trust me.”

Oh, right. They both knew how that had turned out.

Once he’d left and she was certain he hadn’t broken his neck, she opened her top dresser drawer. Impulse had her reaching to the back and fingering the bottom of the drawer until she came up with a small black velvet box. In it was a ring with the tiniest of stones. Microscopic, really. Surrounded by a circle of diamond chips. A poor man’s gift. Or that of a very young man stuck in a very tenuous spot. Marry me, Bella, he’d said. I love you, I’ll always love you. We can make a life together.

So much had been broken. Trust, family, their love for each other. Standing him up would tell him in no uncertain terms that that breech was irreparable. He was smart; he’d get the message. She would set boundaries once and for all.

Yet she found herself tugging on a sweatshirt and rummaging around under her bed for flip-flops.

Because, God help her, she couldn’t stay away.

Continue Reading

 

THE GIVEAWAY

The author is giving away one paperback or e-book edition of Can't Stop Loving You to one lucky winner!

TO ENTER: Simply comment and tell us your favorite thing about reading romance novels. Be sure to enter your email and click the option that says "Notify me about replies." You'll only receive a reply if you've won, and no one will see your email.

CAN'T STOP LOVING YOU by Miranda Liasson

Paperback giveaway is open to US residents only. E-Book giveaway is open internationally to all those legally allowed to enter. Must be 18 years or older to enter. Void where prohibited by law.

 

MEET THE AUTHOR

Author Miranda Liasson

Hi, I'm Miranda Liasson, author of contemporary romance. I won the Romance Writers of America's Golden Heart Award in 2013 for a story that became my first published novel, THIS THING CALLED LOVE, which debuted from Montlake Romance as a Kindle First selection in 2015. Like most of my novels, it's lighthearted but also, like life, has a little bit of heartache in it, too. One of the best reviews I received about THIS LOVE OF MINE, my second Mirror Lake book, said, "This book is full of regret, sadness, loss, longing, friendship, family, love, laughter, and resolve. It would be a good book for anyone. A book that shows you your odds can always get better with friends, family, and loved ones in your corner." This is everything I aspire my books to be! I write romance because I love stories about the experience of being human, and love is the universal experience we all share. I also love stories that have happy endings and make me laugh. I hope my stories make you laugh a little, too. I live in Northeast Ohio with my husband, three children and my office mate Posey, a rescue cat with more attitude than my kids! I love to hear from readers! Find me on Facebook and Twitter @mirandaliasson and of course on my website at

bottom of page